Government establishes new sub-continent ministerial consultative committee

Senator Kate Lundy with Indian community

The Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, Chris Bowen MP, Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Senator Kate Lundy, Senator for Tasmania, Lisa Singh, and Member for Greenway, Michelle Rowland MP, announced the Government is inviting members of the Sub-Continent community to join its new Ministerial Consultative Committee.

“The Sub-Continent is a source of increasing numbers of new migrants to Australia, so the Government is establishing this Ministerial Consultative Committee to make sure the Sub-Continent community can express its views to Government,” Mr Bowen said.

“This new committee will provide a valuable means of communication between senior Government ministers and Sub-Continent community leaders,” Senator Lundy said.

Senator Singh and Ms Rowland will co-chair the committee.

“I am proud of my heritage and the contributions that people from the Sub-Continent have made to Australia,” Senator Singh said.

Federal Member for Greenway and co-chair of the Sub-Continent Ministerial Consultative Committee, Michelle Rowland has encouraged the Sub-Continent community to express their interest in becoming a member of the new advisory committee.

Speaking at a press conference earlier, Ms Rowland said the more expressions of interest the stronger the committee will be.

“I am really looking forward to hearing from the Sub-Continent community,” Ms Rowland said.

“This is about engaging with the Sub-Continent community to help better understand their needs and concerns


“Australia’s Sub-Continent community contributes to the richness of our society and I look forward to engaging with and meeting members of this community to discuss our future.”


“It is crucial that we listen to the views of the Sub-Continent community in Australia and really engage with them,” Ms Rowland said.


“I am looking forward to working closely with the Sub-Continent community to best understand their concerns and hear their feedback on how the Federal Government can help them.”


The Ministerial Consultative Committee will comprise approximately 10 members, drawn from Sub-Continental community leaders across Australia.


The committee will meet regularly with the co-chairs and at least twice a year with Ministers Bowen and Lundy.


The Government will also hold an annual forum for the committee to facilitate access to the Prime Minister and other senior Government ministers.


In their expressions of interest, candidates are requested to address the following criteria:

· Displays strong leadership in the community

· Demonstrates an understanding of issues affecting the community

· Possesses a capacity to inform and consult within the community

· Experience in engaging with and working with government


Short URL: