ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 officially launched today Tuesday the 30th of July, 2013

ICC world cup 2015 A


ICC world cup 2015

India winner World cup 1983

India Winner 2011 world Cup

Can India win again in 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup!

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 was officially announced mid day today. Cricket lovers from Indian sub-continent have been keenly waiting for the news as World Cup winner Indian team will compete in the matches held in Australia and New Zealand.

Minister for Sport and Recreation, Graham Annesley, today announced the NSW Government had successfully reached an agreement with the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Local Organising Committee which will provide NSW fans with many opportunities to see the world’s best cricketers in action.

“Sydney has earned a global reputation as a destination for major international sporting events which add significant value to the NSW economy,” Mr Annesley said.

“The ICC Cricket World Cup will be the biggest sporting event in the world in 2015 and will provide another bonanza for sports fans and businesses in NSW.

“Over one billion people are expected to watch the series on television, and the NSW Government has secured not only a number of major pool games, but also a quarter-final, and a semi-final.   In the lead-up to the tournament proper, NSW will also host a series of warm up matches at other venues including in Western Sydney.

“The Sydney Cricket Ground is without question one of the world’s most iconic sporting arenas and will be at its pristine best following the $186 million redevelopment which is due for completion in time for the 2014 Ashes Series.

“With the additional seating available the record for a one-day crowd may well be exceeded.

“NSW will host more games than any other State, featuring major Cricketing nations including South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies and Australia.

“The major semi-final will be played at the SCG on Thursday 26 March to determine one of the two finalists,” Mr Annesley added.

All games staged in NSW will be day/night fixtures and include the following –

·                  South Africa v West Indies ”“ Friday 27 Feb 2015

·                  Australia v Sri Lanka ”“ Sunday 8 March

·                  England v Qualifier 2 ”“ Fri 13 March

·                  Quarter Final 1 ”“ Wednesday 18 March

·                  Semi Final ”“ Thursday 26 March

Full details of on the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and tournament qualifying are available at  www.cricketworldcup.com, where fans can also register for ticketing news and other tournament updates.   Ticketing information including tiers and packages will be released later this year.

The  ICC Cricket World Cup  2015 will feature 42 pool matches, 21 in Australia, 21 in New Zealand. Played in 14 host cities, 7 in each country.

See the link to information on matches for venues, fixtures and ticket bookings:  http://www.icc-cricket.com/cricket-world-cup/fixtures

Pool A is England, Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Qualifier 2, and Qualifier 3.

Pool B will consist of South Africa, India, the West Indies, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Qualifier 1 (Ireland) and Qualifier 4.

The  ICC Cricket World Cup  2015 quarter finals will be played in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide and Wellington. Semi finals in Auckland and Sydney and the historic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final.

India will complete its group fixtures against Zimbabwe at Eden Park, Auckland, on 14 March. In the group, India will also play South Africa (in Melbourne on 22 February), Qualifier 4 (in Perth on 28 February), West Indies (in Perth on 6 March) and Ireland* (in Hamilton on 10 March).

Looking ahead to the tournament, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said: “It only seems like yesterday that we won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in front of a passionate and supportive home crowd.

“World Cup is a very special event for every cricketer because it only takes place every four years. Having tasted success in Mumbai in 2011, we’ll be working very hard to retain it.

“I’m keenly looking forward to the tournament and confident that we’ll do well. Our recent victory in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 has provided the team with a lot of confidence, and I am sure this experience will help us in our preparations for the World Cup in 2015.”

The tournament opens on 14 February with co-hosts Australia and New Zealand playing their first matches on the opening day of the tournament in front of their home crowds, while the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final on 29 March.

India are ranked number one in the world in the latest Reliance ICC ODI Rankings. Up until now ICC Cricket World Cup’s  all-time leading run scorer (2278 runs in 45 matches) is Sachin Tendulkar.

India has been the ICC Cricket World Cup winner in 1983 and then in 2011 by defeating Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final in Mumbai. Let us see if India can do it again in 2015!

Short URL: https://indiandownunder.com.au/?p=2383