Indian cricket fans and players invited to play in newly created Thunder Nation Cup

Thunder Nation Cup a

10th  of November 2013

Fans and players from the Indian community have been invited to create a team and represent  India  in the newly created Thunder Nation Cup which was launched today.   Started by Big Bash team, the Sydney Thunder, the competition aims to give all cricket lovers the chance to experience the fun and excitement of Twenty20 cricket, whilst representing their local community.

Kicking off with an Indian community round to be played at Old Kings Oval,  Parramatta  on the 10th  of November, teams from the Indian community will take on each other in a fun day of cricket played in the Super 8’s format.   The winner on that day will advance through to the Thunder Nation Cup Mini World Cup on December 8 at Mona Park in  Auburn, taking on over ten teams from other nations.

The competition will culminate with the two finalists taking to the hallowed turf of ANZ Stadium to play in the official curtain raiser for the Sydney Thunder v’s Brisbane Heat match on January 8.   The winning team will take home the inaugural Thunder Nation Cup!

Mike Hussey was excited about the new competition. “The Indian community is well known for its love of cricket. I can’t wait to see some of the stars of the future that are unearthed as part of the Thunder Nation Cup,” Hussey said.   “The boys are looking forward to watching some of the final ahead of our Brisbane Heat match on January 8, here’s hoping none of the players show us up!” Hussey added.

Sydney Thunder General Manager, Nick Cummins, encouraged cricket fans and players to get involved.   “People don’t need to be cricket experts or professionals to play in the Thunder Nation Cup as the initial rounds will be played in a fun and safe Super 8’s format,” he commented.     “Our competition is all about participation, and having a great day with your local community, so we welcome all players of all skill levels to come and have a go.”

Entry is open to male and females, 16 and above, as part of a team of eight.   To enter a team of eight or to find out more information fans can go to


Short URL: