Ramakrishna Mission, Fiji and Lisa Singh, Australia conferred Pravasi Bhartiya Samman Award

PBD Award 1

The President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee presented the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, at the Valedictory Session of the 12th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas  in New Delhi on 09 January  2014. The Union Minister for Overseas Indian Affairs, Shri Vayalar Ravi and the Secretary, Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs with Swami Tadananda receiving the award


Ramakrishna Mission, Fiji, was conferred the prestigious Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award by the Hon’ble President of India on 9th January 2014.

The Awards were presented during the Valedictory Session of the 12th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD), the annual convention of non-resident Indians (NRIs) and persons of Indian origin (PIOs), held in New Delhi from 7 to 9 January 2014.  The theme of the PBD was “Engaging Diaspora : Connecting Across Generation”.

Ramkrishna Mission, serving in Fiji since 1937, was honoured for community service and philanthropic activities and enhancing India’s prestige abroad.  The Award was received by Swami Tadananda, Secretary of the Mission.

Apart from charitable and humanitarian activities in Fiji, the Ramakrishna Mission is playing an active role in the area of education in Fiji.  The Mission runs Schools and Colleges in Fiji. During floods and natural calamities in Fiji, the Ramakrishna Mission has actively participated in relief and rehabilitation efforts.  The work of the Ramakrishna Mission has contributed to promoting human values and harmony, peace and non-violence.

The others presented the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards are:

Lisa singh


Lisa Singh

  1. Ms Lisa Maria Singh, Australia, for public service and fostering friendly relations between India and Australia.
  2. Mr. Kurian Varghese, Bahrain, for business, enhancing India’s image and for promotion of better understanding of India abroad.
  3. Mr Vasdev Chanchlani, Canada, for community service and fostering ties between India and Canada and efforts in promotion of Indian culture and heritage.
  4. Mr. Bikas Chandra Sanyal, France, for education and culture and enhancing India’s image.
  5. Mr. Satnarainsing Rabin Baldewsingh, Netherlands, for public service and developing closer ties between India and South Africa.
  6. Mr Sasindran Muthuvel, Papua New Guinea, in the field of public service.
  7. Mr. Shihabudeen Vava Kunju, Saudi Arabia, for community service and promoting ties between India and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
  8. Ms. Ela Gandhi, South Africa, for public service, enhancing India’s image and promoting ties between India and South Africa.
  9. Dr. Shamsheer Vayalil Parambath, United Arab Emirates, for health business and in promoting better understanding of India and the  United Arab Emirates.
  10. Mr. Shailesh Lakhman Vara, United Kingdom, Public service and in promoting ties between India and the people of U.K.
  11. Dr. Parthasarathy Chiramel Pillai, USA, Science and for fostering closer relations between India and USA.
  12. Ms. Renu Khator, USA, education and enhancing India’s prestige abroad.


Short URL: https://indiandownunder.com.au/?p=2962

Posted by on Jan 10 2014. Filed under Community, Featured. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google