Nomination for ‘Australian of the Year’ close on August 3, 2015

Rosie Batty







Rosie Batty, Australian of the Year 2015, with her son son Luke


Time is running out to have your say on who you think should be considered for the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards, as nominations will close on Monday 3 August 2015.

There are four Award categories in which to nominate someone you admire:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior Australian of the Year (65 years and over)
  • Young Australian of the Year (16-30 years)
  • Australia’s Local Hero

Nominations for the 2016 Australian of the Year Awards can be made online  or  call  1300 655 193  for more information.

National Australia Day Council CEO Mr Jeremy Lasek said more than 1,600 individuals have already been nominated by members of the public.

“This is your opportunity to tell us who you think is worthy of consideration for our nation’s most respected public Awards, so if there’s someone whose contributions or achievements deserve national attention, submit a nomination before Monday 3 August,” said Mr Lasek.

“It could be someone in a rural town whose contributions are the heart of the community; it could be someone in your industry whose achievements have changed the world around us; it could be your next door neighbour who has spent a lifetime giving to others or it could be someone you’ve never met but whose extraordinary efforts make you proud to be Australian.

“There are thousands of Australians worthy of recognition, but someone needs to submit a nomination for them before we can honour them in the Australian of the Year Awards.

“Your nomination could change someone’s life or simply make their day.”

Principal Partner, Commonwealth Bank, has supported the Australian of the Year Awards for 36 years celebrating the many outstanding people in our community.

“We’re very proud of our long term partnership with the Australian of the Year Awards. The Awards recognise people who have been nominated by their peers for their exemplary work and commitment to make Australia even better,” said Ian Narev, Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Bank.

The National Australia Day Council receives thousands of nominations for the Australian of the Year Awards each year.    From these public nominations, finalists in each of the four Award categories are selected from each State and Territory, recognising 128 people around the nation. State and Territory Awards events are held in October and November, where a recipient is announced in each category. These 32 State and Territory Award recipients then become the National Finalists for the Australian of the Year Awards which are announced in January each year.

Nominate at  by 3 August 2015.


Short URL: