Surprise, surprise ”“ Indians are touring Australia next January

India Cricket









By Kersi Meher-Homji

What a pleasant surprise! The Indian cricket team which toured Australia for a series of Tests and One-Day Internationals (ODIs) in 2014-15 will be here again in January 2016 for five ODIs and threeTwenty20 Internationals (T20) against Australia.

But wait there is more! For a double delight, the Indian women’s cricket team will also be in Australia next January and February to play the Aussie girls.

Below is the schedule of internationals just announced today by Cricket Australia:

Men’s Schedule in January 2016

Victoria Bitter ODIs:

First ODI at WACA, Perth on 12th January

Second ODI at Gabba, Queensland on 15th

Third ODI at MCG, Melbourne on 17th

Fourth ODI at Manuka Oval, Canberra on 20th

Fifth ODI at SCG, Sydney on 23rd

KFC T20 Internationals:

First T20 in Adelaide on 26th January which is India’s Republic Day and Australia Day

Second T20 at the MCG on 29th

Third T20 at the SCG on 31st

Kersi - Indian women team








Women’s Schedule in January ”“ February 2016

The Commonwealth Bank T20 Internationals will be played on the same days and at the same venues as the Men’s matches but earlier. (See above).

The three ODIs by the women’s team will be held in Canberra on 2nd February and at Blundstone Arena in Tasmania on 5th and 7th.

The Indian women’s team under Mithali Raj is confident after beating the New Zealand women’s team 3-2 this month in a series of ODIs in Bangalore.

Test series Down Under in 2015-16

Australia’s men’s team which is currently engaged in Ashes series in England will play three Tests against New Zealand and then three against the West Indies.

Against New Zealand:

First Test from 5 to 9 November 2015 at Brisbane

Second Test from 13 to 17 November in Perth and

Third Test from 27 November to 1 December in Adelaide

This Adelaide Test is of importance as it will be a day-night Test played with a pink ball. (See the recent story on pink ball Test on the TIDU website).

Against West Indies:

First Test from 10 to 14 December in Tasmania

Second Test from 26 to 30 December in Melbourne and

Third Test from 3 to 7 January 2016 in Sydney

It is interesting to note that neither New Zealand nor the West indies will play ODIs and T20 Internationals against Australia this summer. But India will. This just shows their crowd-pulling potential.

Cricket Australia informs us that the highlight of the season will be “the match-up between Australia and India, the world’s top-ranked teams in one-day international cricket through the Victoria Bitter Series.

“These teams met in the semi-final of the World Cup in a match which saw more than 300 million fans watching on Star TV in India, and we want to continue to build a strong rivalry which will be on show throughout the summer.”

Come on Dhoni, come on Kohli!





Short URL: