Dr. Harinath conferred PBD Sammaan

Dr. Gorur Krishna Harinath is one of the recepients from Australia of Pravasi Bhartiya Sammaan award out of the 30 conferred from all over the world in Bengaluru where Pravasi Bhartiya Divas was celebrated this year. It was decided late last year to hold the PBD conventions after an interval of two years.

Indian-origin Portugal Prime Minister Antonio Luis Santos da Costa and Indian-born US diplomat Nisha Desai Biswal are among the 30 winners of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman by which India honours people of Indian origin who have made a name or earned distinctions in their countries of adoption.

“Costa, Nisha and other of the diaspora have been conferred the PBD 2017 awards for their outstanding contribution in diverse fields, including public service, community service, social service, business, education and arts & culture,” said the Ministry of External Affairs in a statement on the PBD valedictory day here.

Two organisations namely ”“ Antwerp Indian Association in Belgium and Singapore Indian Association in Singapore were also honoured with the award for community service.

G.K. Harinath OAM, “Harry” as his friends in Sydney refer to him, is the first person of Indian origin to become a Director of Cricket Australia (2004), he is also the chairman of the strongest state cricket association – Cricket New South Wales (NSW) and currently chairman of Multicutltural Advisory Council.

Dr. Harinath was awarded the OAM in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to cricket and to the community in 2009. He has been a driving force behind the many initiatives introduced by Cricket NSW in recent years. His association with cricket dates back to three decades where he was involved with cricket administration in Sydney. Harinath, a doctor in sports medicine, has been actively associated with cricket since 1977 and is a familiar face to all Indian touring teams since Bishen Bedi’s team visited in 1977-78.

The number of awards to be conferred for PBD 2017 doubled this year since the PBDs are now being held every second year. The Jury cum Awards Committee can also make upto six suo-motto nominations for persons from the fields in which the awards are to be conferred. This year, the jury also considered Pravasi’s contribution for achievements on philanthropic investments and charitable work in India and for contribution towards India’s development. Nominations were invited in the prescribed format from all eligible categories of Overseas Indians/Organizations. The last date for receipt of nominations at the Ministry was 29th August 2016.

The Jury-cum-Awards Committee, chaired by Hon’ble Vice-President, considered all the nominations for the PBSA. A list of 123 nominations that were found eligible as per the guidelines and another list of 55 nominations that were received late were presented for consideration of the Committee. The nominations were initially examined by a Screening Committee comprising of Officers from the Ministry of External Affairs. The Jury-cum-Awards Committee for Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA) comprised of following members: Vice President of India-Chairman and Hon’ble EAM, Vice-Chairman.


Short URL: https://indiandownunder.com.au/?p=8240