India to play in the 2017 International Cup

India will return to Melbourne to compete in the 2017 AFL International Cup.

A stand-alone, division two men’s team will be representing India in the fourth, consecutive International Cup India has competed in.

Inaugurated in 2002, the AFL International Cup is played every three years and this year’s sixth tournament will feature seven new teams.

Three news men’s team and four new women’s teams will head to Melbourne to take part in the 2017 AFL International Cup, played in Melbourne from August 5 to August 19.

Croatia, Germany and Sir Lanka are joining 15 other nations competition in the men’s competition while Great Britain, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea and the European Crusader join the women’s competition.

The majority of matches will be played at Royal Park in Parkville with a community round to be played as curtain-raisers to suburban, amateur and country matches. For the first time, the 2017 AFL International Cup will also play a Schools Round on Wednesday August 9 with games to be played in suburban and country schools.

2017 AFL International Cup Fixture for India is as follows:

Men’s Division 2

Round 1 ”“ 2:45pm Sunday August 6 v Japan, Royal Park (Western Oval)

Round 2 (Schools Round) ”“ 12:30pm Wednesday August 9 v Germany, Mentone Grammar (Keysborough)

Round 3 (Community Round) ”“ 7:00pm Friday August 11 v Pakistan, Golden Square

Round 4 (Semi Finals) ”“ TBC

Finals ”“ TBC

Round 1 – Sunday August 6
9.30am Indonesia v Sri Lanka Royal Park – Western Oval
11.15am Pakistan v Germany Royal Park – Western Oval
1.00pm Croatia v China Royal Park – Western Oval
2.45pm Japan v India Royal Park – Western Oval

Round 2 ”“ School Round
Wednesday August 9
10.45am China v Sri Lanka Mentone Grammar (Keysborough)
10.45am Pakistan v Japan Mount Clear (Ballarat)
11.45am Croatia v Indonesia Eltham College (Research)
12.30pm India v Germany Mentone Grammar (Keysborough)

Round 3 ”“ Community Round
Friday August 11
7.00pm India v Pakistan Golden Square
Saturday August 12
12.00pm Indonesia v China Diggers Rest
12.00pm Sri Lanka v Croatia Lyndhurst
2.00pm Japan v Germany Box Hill North

Round 4 ”“ Semi Finals
Tuesday August 15
9.30am 3rd Place – Pool B v 4th Place – Pool A Royal Park – Western Oval
11.15am 3rd Place – Pool A v 4th Place – Pool B Royal Park – Western Oval

2.00pm Winner – Pool A v 2nd Place – Pool B Royal Park – Ransford Oval
3.45pm Winner – Pool B v 2nd Place – Pool A Royal Park – Ransford Oval

Round 5 ”“ Finals
Friday August 18
9.00am Loser SF1 v Loser SF2 Royal Park – McAlister Oval
11.45am Loser SF3 v Loser SF4 Royal Park – Western Oval
12.30pm Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 Royal Park – Ransford Oval
1.30pm Winner SF3 v Winner SF3 Royal Park – Western Oval


Short URL: