Nawazuddin Siddiqui wins Best Actor Ward at APSA for ‘Manto’

Brisbane, Australia:  Nawazuddin Siddiqui  was named Best Actor for his outstanding performance in  Manto  at the Asia Pacfic Screen Awards in Brisbane tonight. Siddiqui’s win marks the third consecutive year Indian actors have won in this category following  Rajkummar Rao  for  Newton(2017) and  Manoj Bajpayee  for  Aligarh  (2016).

This was Siddiqui’s second APSA nomination after receiving a Special Mention in this category in 2016 for Anurag Kashyap’s  Raman  Raghav 2.0, only just missing out to  Bajpayee.  At that time APSA Jury President Lord David Puttnam said the competition was so close between the actors, the International Jury had to award a Special Mention to  Siddiqui.    

In a filmed acceptance speech, Siddiqui said it was an absolute honour to be prized as the Best Actor at the prestigious APSA. “This is priceless” he said.

Manto  director  Nandita Das  accepted the award, a unique hand-crafted glass trophy by Brisbane glass artist Joanna Bone on his behalf while composer  Sneha Khanwalker, in Brisbane as part of the inaugural APSA Music in Film International Jury, was also cheering him on.

Earlier in the ceremony Nandita Das had been presented with the  FIAPF Award for achievement in film in the Asia Pacific region. Ms Das becomes the 12th  Asia Pacific screen icon, and second Indian to receive the award, which was also presented to Yash Chopra in 2008.

A  Special Mention for Achievement in Directing went to  Ivan Ayr  for his direction of  Soni  (India), which premiered in Horizons competition at the Venice Film Festival.

In a spread of awards representing the geographical and cultural diversity of the Asia Pacific region, APSAs went to films from Australia, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, People’s Republic of China, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Singapore and Turkey.

The Awards, hosted by New Zealand movie star Cliff Curtis and popular Australian TV presenter Sofie Formica were held at Brisbane Exhibition and Convention Centre.  Winners are presented with a unique hand-crafted glass trophy created by Brisbane-based glass artist Joanna Bone.

Kore-eda Hirokazu’s  Shoplifters (Manbiki Kazoku)  was tonight named  Best Feature Film  and the Award was accepted by  producer  Taguchi Hijiri.

Winners in the feature fiction categories were determined by the  APSA International Jury, comprised of  Alexander Rodnyansky (Russian Federation), Nia Dinata (Indonesia), Deepak Rauniyar (Nepal), Vladimer Katcharava (Georgia) and Antonia Zegers (Chile).

The inaugural  Best Original Score  award went to the celebrated composers Hildur Guðnadóttir and the recently deceased Jóhann Jóhannsson forMary Magdalene  (Australia, UK). The winner was determined by the Music in Film International Jury comprised of Jury Chair  Ryuichi Sakamoto (Japan), Sneha Khanwalkar (India) and Nigel Westlake (Australia).

Sakamoto said of the winning film “Mary Magdalene’s soundtrack is a meticulous work of art by the composers. The quality of craftsmanship and the depth of emotions are overwhelming.”

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards, the region’s highest accolade in film, honour cinematic excellence and the cultural diversity of the world’s fastest-growing film region: comprising 70 countries and areas, 4.5 billion people, and responsible for half of the world’s film output.  In 2018, 46 films from 22 countries and areas of the Asia Pacific region received APSA nominations, including the first nomination for a film from Uzbekistan.

During the Ceremony, the Motion Picture Association (MPA) announced the four recipients of the 9th round of the  MPA APSA Academy Film Fund, created to support, at script stage, new feature film projects originated by APSA Academy members and their colleagues across Asia Pacific. The fund awards four development grants of US$25,000 annually, and is wholly supported by the MPA. To date, 32 projects have now been funded, with many going into production and garnering success at film festivals around the world.

The four  2018 MPA APSA Film Fund recipients are:

Producer  Ifa Isfansyah, directior  Kamila Andini  (Indonesia) for  Yuni

Producer  Olga Khlasheva,  director  Adilkhan Yerzhanov  (Kazakhstan) for  Hell is Empty and All The Devils Are Here

Producer  Mai Meksawan, director  Uruphong Raksasad  (Thailand) for  Worship

Director, producer, screenwriter  Semih Kaplanoglu  (Turkey) for  Asli


Short URL: