CCTV cameras to make streets safe

At least 1000 community organisations and small businesses will benefit from funding to install CCTV cameras to make our streets even safer, under a program to be delivered by the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian said $5 million will be committed over four years to rollout CCTV cameras in Western and South-Western Sydney before being assessed for expansion to other areas of NSW.

“Community safety is the NSW Government’s top priority and this investment will keep residents and small businesses safe from crime and anti-social behavior,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“More CCTV cameras will increase community confidence and send a strong message to would-be criminals that if you do the wrong thing, you will be caught and punished.”

Police Minister Troy Grant said CCTV camera footage can be a vital source of information for NSW Police when gathering intelligence and investigating criminal activity, and acts as a deterrent to criminals, reducing the likelihood of crime.

“This is a great initiative that will improve public safety and community confidence by cracking down on criminal and anti-social behavior,” Mr Grant said.

“It’s about putting criminals on the back foot ”“ if they know they’re being watched, it makes them think twice about doing the wrong thing.”

Mr Grant said the program will continue the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government’s strong record of investment in local community safety initiatives, including the Government’s commitment to deliver 1500 new police to put more cops on the beat.

“This program means funds can go directly to small businesses and community groups impacted by crime, empowering communities to make our streets even safer,” Mr Grant said.

Eligible community groups and small businesses will be able to apply for up to $5000 in funding, and will have their applications assessed by officials from the NSW Police Force and the NSW Department of Justice, from April 2019.

Community groups and small businesses in the following ten local government areas will be the first groups and businesses eligible to participate in the program:

·       Blacktown;

·       Camden;

·       Campbelltown;

·       Canterbury-Bankstown;

·       Cumberland;

·       Fairfield;

·       Liverpool;

·       Parramatta;

·       Penrith; and

·       Wollondilly.

Short URL: