India enters the Final of Under-19 World Cup by beating Australia

By Kersi Meher-Homji

India has entered the Final of Under-19 cricket World Cup for the fourth time in a row. Last night they defeated Australia by 96 runs at Coolidge, Antigua, West Indies.

Thanks to a whirlwind partnership of 204 runs for the third wicket between skipper Yash Dhull (110 runs with 10 fours and a six) and vice-captain Shaik Rasheed (94 with 8 fours and a six) India u-19s totaled 5 for 290 in 50 overs.

Australia u-19s found this target too high and collapsed from 1 for 71 to 7 for 125 and were all out for 194 runs in 41.5 overs. The main wicket-taker was India’s left arm spinner Vicky Ostwal who grabbed 3 for 42.

India won comfortably to reach the Final and will meet England on Saturday the 5th February. It will be England’s first Final since 1998.

For his brilliant century Yash Dhull was adjudged Player of the Match.

Previously, India has won the title four times; in 2000 under the captaincy of Muhammad Kaif, in 2008 under guess who – Virat Kohli, in 2012 under Unmukt Chand and in 2018 under Prithvi Shaw.

India has won the title most times followed by Australia three times, Pakistan twice, England, South Africa, West Indies and Bangladesh once each. Australia was the first to win in 1988. Bangladesh are the reigning champs having won in 2020.

List of Under-19 World Cup winners

India in 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018.

Australia in 1988, 2002 and 2010.

Pakistan in 2004 and 2006.

England in 1998.

South Africa in 2014,

West Indies in 2016.

Bangladesh in 2020.

India is favourite to win this week but will find England hard to beat.

Short URL: