India Australia Business and Community Awards (IABCA Awards) nominations close on 31 July 2014


IABCA Awards






Gandhi Creations, the award winning event management consultancy is proud to launch, the inaugural India Australia Business & Community Awards (IABCA). This is a brainchild of Sonia Gandhi, who is a Paul Harris Fellow, Director of Gandhi Creations and the Global Origin for Indian People Award Winner in 2012 for Community Arts & Culture. Her goal is showcase the myriad of ways that this community contributes in areas such as the arts, education, travel, technology and more.

Gandhi Creations small 2








Sonia Gandhi, director Gandhi Creations

Partnered with the Australia India Business Council NSW and the Australia India Institute, IABCA is set to change the way Indian business and the community is recognised in New South Wales. The concept will come alive through a high profile black tie event that will witness businesses and communities celebrating over a gala dinner while experiencing a cultural spectacular. IABCA is supporting White Ribbon Australia, a non-for-profit organisation and Australia’s only national, male-led primary prevention campaign to end men’s violence against women.








Janice Petersen

The Master of Ceremonies is Janice Petersen from SBS World News.

andre o'keefe








Andrew O’Keefe (Host from Weekend Sunrise & Deal or No Deal)

Speakers will include White Ribbon Chairman and Ambassador, Andrew O’Keefe (Host from Weekend Sunrise & Deal or No Deal), Channel 7, CEO of White Ribbon Australia, Libby Davies, and a keynote address from The Hon Victor Dominello MP, Minister for Citizenship and Communities. The event format is a sit down 3 course gala dinner event with arrival activity, black tie bollywood style. A live Bollywood spectacular with 10 artists, DJ & Dance Floor, a surprise act from a world famous comedian and much much more.

sunjay sudhir  







Sunjay Sudhir, Consul General of India, Sydney

Sunjay Sudhir, Consul General of India in Sydney   says about this initiative by Gandhi Creations, “I am glad to know that the India Australia Business & Community Awards is being instituted to recognise the talent and work of Indian Australians in NSW in diverse fields ranging from arts and education to trade and technology. I convey my congratulations and best wishes to the organisers and the winners of the inaugural India Australia Business & Community Awards 2014.”

victor dominello







Hon Victor Dominello  

The Hon Victor Dominello MP, Minister for Citizenship and Communities, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for Veterans Affairs, and Assistant Minister for Education, says about IABCA Awards, “I welcome the India Australia Business & Community Awards as an initiative that rewards excellence and highlights the breadth of the contribution made by Indian Australia. As these awards indicate, the skills, dedication, and passion that result in business success are just as important in delivering effective community initiatives.”

The India Australia Business & Community Awards 2014 nominations close on July 31. You can visit the  website for details:


Award Categories:


  1. Young Professional of the Year 2014
  2. Young Community Achiever of the Year 2014
  3. Community Arts and Culture Award 2014
  4. Community Association of the Year 2014
  5. Educational Institute of the Year 2014
  6. Indian Bank of the Year 2014
  7. Australian Bank of the Year 2014 (In India)
  8. Travel Agency of the Year 2014
  9. Indian Restaurant of the Year 2014
  10. Technology Solutions Provider of the Year 2014
  11. SME of the Year 2014
  12. Indian Australian Ambassador of the Year 2014


The awards have a panel of industry leaders:

  • Vic Aldaheff, Chair, Community Relations Commission & CEO, NSW Jewish Board of Studies
  • Marlon Fraser, Partner, Deloitte Private, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
  • Ed Husic, Member for Chifley, Federal Shadow Parliamentary Secretary
  • Dr Harry Harinath, Chairman, Parramasala
  • Dr Geoff Lee, Member for Parramatta, MP
  • Mr Sunil Lal, Executive Chairman, Kaden Boriss
  • Professor Amitabh Mattoo, Director, Australia India Institute
  • Mr Kartik Mohandas, Director, Zee Network (South East Asia’s largest network)
  • Sheba Nandkeolyar, President, AIBC (Australia India Business Council)
  • Anupam Sharma, An Australia Day Ambassador 2013, 2014 Producer/Director, Head ”“ Australia India Film Fund & Advisor Indian Cinema & Media Sectors
  • Linda Taylor, Acting Director, Study NSW, NSW Trade & Investment | Industry, Innovation, Hospitality & the Arts


Details on the awards gala night Friday 31st October 2014 also on the website.
Further information visit:,

Short URL: