XMas gift from Abbott government

Sydney community also needs this much needed aged care service as we now age…we should take a leaf out of Victorian chapter and do something here as well…

Message from Vasan Srinivasan, Melbourne


On behalf of the Australian Indian community in Victoria, it is with great pleasure I wish to announce the approval of a 60 Bed license for Indian Ethno specific Aged Care along with a $4.8 million capital funding from the Federal Government.

This came in as a long awaited Christmas gift from the Abbott Government to the Indian community. On behalf of the Indian Community, I wish to thank the Abbott government and specifically Senator Mitch Fifield, Assistant Minister for Social Services towards the first ever Indian Ethno specific aged care facility in Victoria Australia.

The Ethno specific Aged care project shall be delivered and managed by a well-known Aged care facility provider.

We will now work with our aged care partner to raise the remaining $10 million to design, gain the appropriate planning approvals and construct the new aged care home in Dandenong.

I wish to personally thank a number of stakeholders and well-wishers for this initiative, which has been running for the past 3 years and has undergone a number of positive changes to the needs of our community in Victoria.

Outcomes Plus, the Project Consultants led by Mr David Ettershank and Mr Ken Ridgwell whose professional expertise helped us get through a number of hurdles.

A number of Federal and State members have been supportive of this project. I wish to thank Hon Kevin Andrews Minister for Social Services and member for Menzies, Ms Anna Burke, former Speaker of the Australian House of Representatives, Hon Matthew Guy, Victorian State opposition leader, Hon Luke Donnellan Minister for Ports, Roads and Road Safety, Mr Michael Gidley Member for Mount Waverley, Cr Jim Memeti, Former Mayor of the City of Dandenong Cr Geoff Ablett former Mayor of the City of Casey   and a number of Councillors and members for their support to this project.

Finally, I acknowledge and commend the efforts of AICCT trust directors, Mr Peter Vlahos, Mr Vernon Da Gama, Mr Himanshu Lakhani, Dr Santosh Kumar, Mr Karan Gandhok, Dr Dinesh Parekh, Mr Ashok Aswani and Mr Thomas Joseph. In addition, I also like to thank Mr Ravi Lakhani and Mr Subra Ramachandran for their contribution to this project.

For further enquiries about the Aged Care facility please contact one of us:


Vasan Srinivasan | 0412 55 33 71 | chair@ciaa.org.au
Dr Santosh Kumar | | 0411 136 612 | santosh.kumarau@gmail.com

Short URL: https://indiandownunder.com.au/?p=4230