Sunjeev Sahota’s ”˜The Year of the Runaways’ in Man Booker 2015 shortlist

man booker - sunjeev sahota











15 September 2015

Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara are today, Tuesday 15 September, announced as the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The six names were announced by Chair of judges, Michael Wood, at a press conference at the offices of sponsor Man Group.

The judges remarked on the variety of writing styles, cultural heritage and literary backgrounds of the writers on the shortlist, which includes new authors alongside established names. Two authors come from the United Kingdom, two from the United States and one apiece from Jamaica and Nigeria.

This is the second year that the prize, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was open only to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

The 2015 shortlist of six novels is:

Author (nationality)                                 Title (imprint)

Marlon James (Jamaica)             A Brief History of Seven Killings (Oneworld Publications)

Tom McCarthy (UK)                             Satin Island (Jonathan Cape)

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria)             The Fishermen (ONE, Pushkin Press)

Sunjeev Sahota (UK)                             The Year of the Runaways (Picador)

Anne Tyler (US)                                             A Spool of Blue Thread (Chatto & Windus)

Hanya Yanagihara (US)                     A Little Life (Picador)


The 2015 winner will be announced on Tuesday 13 October in London’s Guildhall at a black-tie dinner that brings together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the literary world. The ceremony will be broadcast by the BBC.

Short URL: