Vasan Srinivasan continues as one of the 17-member team of Australian Multicultural Council

The Australian Government has announced the 17 members who will serve on the Australian Multicultural Council (AMC) for its next three-year term.

Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs, Alex Hawke, said the new AMC membership offered both continuity and renewal, with six former serving members and 11 new members, including two youth members, appointed for the Council’s next term.

“The AMC brings together leaders from a diverse range of business and civil society backgrounds who will provide independent advice to Government on multicultural affairs and social cohesion policy and programs.

“Australia is one of the world’s most successful liberal democratic and multicultural nations. In upholding and actively striving to further build the strong cohesion of our diverse society, the Australian Government aims to harness the benefits of this diversity and foster our shared Australian values, inclusive national identity, and citizenship as a common bond.

“I look forward to working with the new and returning members of the Council to build on Australia’s strong social cohesion, by strengthening the Government’s engagement with culturally and linguistically diverse communities and encouraging harmonious relations across the whole of Australian society.

“I would also like to thank the members of the last AMC term, including the former Chair, Dr Sev Ozdowski AM, for their advice and contributions to the Council.”

The Australian Multicultural Council members for the 2022-2025 term are:

Mr Vasan Srinivasan from Melbourne and is on the AMC since 2014. He is the Chairperson, and also on the Board of the Mental Health Foundation Australia and Chairperson of Australian Indian community Charitable Trust. He is a well-known community leader active in mental health and multicultural sectors throughout Victoria and was awarded the Meritorious Service Award for Excellence in multicultural affairs by the Victorian Government in 2013.

Mr Srinivasan served as a President of the Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria and was a founding member of the Federation of Indian Multifaith Organisations Victoria Inc. He is also the current  Chair of the Confederation of Indian Australian Organisations of Australia (CIAA).

Mr Srinivasan has been a member of the Australian Multicultural Council since 2014.

Short URL: