India beat Pakistan in MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Epic

India has been crowned champions of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup after a narrow one-run victory over Pakistan at Spotless Stadium.

Winning the toss and batting first Malwa, representing the Indian Community, posted a modest 2/65 off 7 overs. Openers Vikasdeep Pal and Tanveer Sangha posted an even 50-run partnership as they built a solid foundation for the innings. Ali Raza was the pick of the bowlers for Stars XI, representing the Pakistani community, taking 1-for-11 off his 2 overs.

In reply, Faisal Nasim blazed to 26 (off 16 balls) before falling victim to the legspin of Tanveer Sangha (2-for-13). Nasim is a member of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All Stars and featured in the sides’ win against Kenya Under 19s last month. With 3 runs required for victory of the last ball, Pakistan could only manage a single as Babar Cheema was run-out attempting to tie the game

Sangha was named Player of the Match with his game-defining figures.

The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup trophy was presented to the Indian team by Governor of the Thunder Nation, Mark Waugh and MoneyGram’s regional head, Michael  Minassian.

Sydney Thunder General Manager Lee Germon, who believes the competition is one of the leading community initiatives in sport, congratulated the Malwa team.

“The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup provides a wonderful opportunity to showcase and celebrate the diversity of cricket loving communities in our Thunder region, culminating with this incredible opportunity to play at Spotless Stadium. Congratulations to the Malwa team who put on a thrilling display to take out the title this year ”


Short URL: