Andhadhun, Gully Boy and Super Delux are the top nominees in 2019 AACTA Awards

Vijay Sethupathi won Best Actor at the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne this year for his role as a transgender woman who returns to her wife and son in Super Delux

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has today revealed the films nominated for this year’s AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by Eureka International Group (EIG).

Over the past year, the global reach of Asian film continues to grow with an increasing number of high-quality, creative productions being recognised at international film festivals and embraced by local and international audiences. The AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by EIG recognises the increasingly high standard of films from the Asian region ”“ from box-office hits and international film festival favourites to a Palme d’Or winner and multiple Best International Feature Film Oscar ® entries.

The nominees for 2019 include:

Gully Boy is also India’s entry for  Best International Feature Film at the upcoming Oscars ®
Andhadhun recently won four Indian Screen Awards and five Filmfare Awards
  • ANDHADHUN (Dir. Sriram Raghavan, INDIA)
  • GULLY BOY (Dir. Zoya Akhtar, INDIA)
  • HELLO LOVE GOODBYE (Dir. Cathy Garcia-Molina, PHILLIPENES)
  • NE ZHA (Dir. Jiao Zi, CHINA)
  • PARASITE (Dir. Bong Joon-Ho, SOUTH KOREA)
  • SHADOW (Dir. Zhang Yimou, CHINA)
  • SUPER DELUXE (Dir. Thiagarajan Kumararaja, INDIA)
  • WE ARE LITTLE ZOMBIES (Dir. Makoto Nagahisa, JAPAN)

The winner of the Best Asian Film Award will be determined by the 2019 Best Asian Film Grand Jury, led by Oscar ® and multiple AFI and AACTA Award-winning actor Russell Crowe, who returns as Jury President.

Also returning as jurors are: AACTA Award-winning Australian director and producer Paul Currie (HACKSAW RIDGE, BLEEDING STEEL, THE LONGEST SHOT); Director, producer and screenwriter Renny Harlin (DIE HARD 2, THE LONG KISS GOODNIGHT, SKIPTRACE); and Japanese producer Adam Torel (GESU NO AI, TEZUKA’S BARBARA). 

They will be joined by new Grand Jury members: Indian actress Tannishtha Chatterjee (LION, BRICK LANE, SHADOWS OF TIME, BIBAR); Indian director, producer and writer Anurag Kashyap (DABBA, GANGS OF WASSEYPUR, UDAAN)Chinese producer Virginia Lok (LINE WALKER, FLYING TIGER); and Award-winning Chinese actress Chloe Maayan (SAM FOO, THREE HUSBANDS, BITTER FLOWERS). 


Bong Joon-Ho’s PARASITE made waves globally earlier this year as the first South Korean film to ever win the prestigious Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival. The genre-blending film has been widely celebrated and with a box office of $100 million and counting, audiences are loving it too. The film was also recently announced as South Korea’s entry for Best International Feature Film at the 92nd upcoming Oscars ®.

Nominated from India are three films –  Zoya Akhtar’s coming-of-age drama GULLY BOY which is India’s entry for Best International Feature Film at the upcoming Oscars ®SUPER DELUXE which saw lead actor Vijay Sethupathi win Best Actor at the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne this year for his role as a transgender woman who returns to her wife and son; and award-winning director Sriram Raghavan’s ANDHADHUN which recently won four Indian Screen Awards and five Filmfare Awards. The film has also had commercial success grossing almost ten times its budget since its release.   

Chinese fantasy animation NE ZHA’s nomination follows incredible commercial success as the highest-grossing animated film ever in China. Although NE ZHA is the debut feature of its director Yu Yang and first credited production for lead voice actress Yanting Lu, the film was selected as China’s official entry for Best International film at the Oscars ® in 2020.

Marking China’s first foray into big-budget sci-fi films, THE WANDERING EARTH is produced by Ge Song who is behind some of China’s most lucrative films including WOLF WARRIOR 2, YOUTH and RAILROAD TIGERS. Praised for its stunning visual effects, THE WANDERING EARTH was acquired by Netflix to stream outside of China earlier this year.

Inspired by Chinese ink brush painting and the tai chi symbol, the almost entirely black-and-white period film SHADOW is the latest film from one of China’s most celebrated directors, Zhang Yimou (HOUSE OF FLYING DAGGERS, HERO). SHADOW has won 17 international awards to date including best director at the prestigious Golden Horse Film Festival.

WE ARE LITTLE ZOMBIES, has become a festival favourite, being recognised with numerous awards including the World Dramatic Special Jury Award for Originality at Sundance this year and the Special Mention award in the Youth Jury Generation 14plus at Berlin International Film Festival.

The film marks the feature debut of award-winning short filmmaker Makoto Nagahisa, who became the first Japanese director to win the Short Film Grand Jury Prize at Sundance in 2017 with AND SO WE PUT THE GOLDFISH IN THE POOL

The highly relatable romantic-comedy HELLO LOVE GOODBYE broke box office records, becoming the highest-grossing film ever produced in the Philippines. Director Cathy Garcia-Molina and lead actress Kathryn Bernardo also worked together in 2018 on THE HOWS OF US, which had previously held the record for the highest grossing Philippine film.

“It is exciting to see such exceedingly high standard of quality filmmaking from the nominees for the Best Asian Film Award,” said AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. “There is a fast-growing interest in Asian film, both here in Australia and abroad. It is wonderful to see how responsive Australian audiences are to the films crafted by our neighbouring Asian film industries, which continue to inspire us in our own work.”

“Asia now represents more than 50% of the world’s population, so we are very excited to see such a high calibre of films showcasing stories from the region,” said EIG Chairman Kelvin Dong. “As the presenting partner for the Best Asian Film Award, we are proud to join AACTA in celebrating film excellence in Asia and we congratulate all of the nominated films.”

The winner of the Award will be announced in Sydney at the 2019 AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel on Wednesday 4 December 2019.

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

Short URL: