Mumbai Indians win the IPL for the fourth time

By Kersi Meher-Homji

It was worth remaining awake till 4.15 am (Sydney time) today to watch Mumbai Indians (MI) defeat Delhi Capitals (DC) by five wickets to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 played in Dubai.

DC started poorly to lose 3 for 22, quickie Trent Bolt taking two wickets. But they recovered to total 7 for 156 in 20 overs. Man of the Match Boult took 3 for 30.

With skipper Rohit Sharma smashing a quick fire 68, reigning champion MI reached the target in 18.4 overs.

Jofra Archer of Rajasthan Royals was adjudged the most valuable player of IPL 2020.

The IPL was inaugurated in 2008 and attracts huge crowds. Unfortunately, this year due to COVID-19, IPL was played in United Arab Emeritus in front of empty stands. But it provided a huge television audience.

This was MI’s fourth win in the 13 years history of IPL, having won previously in 2013, 2017 and 2019.


Short URL: