We welcome Indian women cricketers touring Australia this summer

By Kersi Meher-Homji

Although the highlight of this Australian summer is the Ashes series between the touring England’s cricket team and Australia, India women will visit Australia before the Ashes. They will play three One Day Internationals (ODIs), one Test and three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) against Australian women in September and October.

“The 2021-22 summer of international cricket promises to be one of the biggest ever,” Cricket Australia’s acting CEO Nick Hockley said.  

The Australian international cricket season will start with the Indian women under ace batter Mithali Raj touring Australia in September. The team will provide entertaining cricket with 17 year-old aggressive opening batter Shafali Verma providing fireworks. Vice-captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana are quality batters and Jhulan Goswami bowls fast medium.

My favourite is Deepti Sharma who bats left-handed and bowls right arm off-spin.

Below is their tour itinerary:

Commonwealth Bank Women’s ODI Series v India 
September 19: North Sydney Oval (Day-night) 
September 22: Junction Oval, Victoria 
September 24: Junction Oval, Victoria
Commonwealth Bank Women’s Test v India 
September 30 ”“ October 3: WACA Ground, Perth (Day-night) 
Commonwealth Bank Women’s T20I Series v India (Night matches)
October 7: North Sydney Oval 
October 9: North Sydney Oval
October 11: North Sydney Oval

This will be followed by Men’s Vodafone Test between Australia and Afghanistan from 27 November to December 1 at Blundstone Arena, Tasmania and then the important Ashes series contested by Men and Women.

Men’s Vodafone Ashes Test Series 2021-22
December 8 ”“ December 12: The Gabba, Brisbane 
December 16 – December 20: Adelaide Oval (Day-night) 
December 26 ”“ December 30: Melbourne Cricket Ground 
January 5 ”“ January 9, 2022: Sydney Cricket Ground 
January 14 ”“ January 18: Perth Stadium 
Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes ”“ Test 
January 27 ”“ January 30: Manuka Oval, Canberra 
Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes ”“ T20Is 
February 4: 1st T20I ”“ North Sydney Oval (Night) 
February 6: 2nd T20I ”“ North Sydney Oval (Night) 
February 10: 3rd T20I ”“ Adelaide Oval (Night) 

Short URL: https://indiandownunder.com.au/?p=16630